The Biden Dilemma

I like Joe Biden. Wait, let me rephrase that; I fucking love Joe Biden. As someone who is incredibly prone to the nostalgia of a time when following politics didn’t leave you with a grueling pain in the stomach, the idea of an experienced and seasoned statesman taking charge and taking us back to a time of dignity and common sense is extremely comforting. I have an urge to ignore all the tireless policy debates, the constant battle between progressives and moderates, and this seemingly impossible objective of actually changing anything. I have an urge to follow the safe and the familiar. I have an urge to support Joe Biden for President of the United States.

That urge is stupid. But, no matter how much nuance pundits try to bring into the discussion, it is the single most important reason why Biden is the “frontrunner”. You know how politicians always say that politics can’t be something that we care about only every four years, that we should be always and constantly be involved in fighting for democracy, in fighting for freedom, in fighting for our rights? Well they’re right. But that is fucking exhausting. Many of us have day jobs to go to, have bills to pay, have kids to raise, have meetings to attend, have churches to fundraise for; we have shit that we have to do. Shit that leaves us so little time to ourselves that we can barely watch ten minutes of the evening news before falling asleep. Many of us don’t want politics to be a constant in our lives; we want to put a guy in charge who won’t be able to do much, but who we know won’t bring the entire place crumbling down. That’s the easy thing to do. That is Joe Biden.

But sometimes, we have to do the hard thing in life. You with me?

Leave a comment